Lost in Thoughts…

December 4, 2008

Singapore Landlords!

Filed under: General — Confused Desi @ 5:47 am

I have been living in this condo for about 3 and half years with my sister, and I have another 7 months to go on my lease ( we just renewed it in August). My sister has moved out and considering the current market situation, I can’t afford to pay the exorbitant amount of rent every month. So, I decided to move out and look for a new place.

My previous encounters with my landlords have been very nice, he usually is always smiling and understanding. So, I decided to call my landlord and ask what would be good enough compensation for him if I terminate the contract. He told me he will see my contract and get back to me, which sounds reasonable.

He called, the next day, to tell me that since I am terminating the contract, he will contact his lawyer and expects me to pay the rent till august even if I don’t live there. WTF!! I mean, does he not understand English??? I didn’t say I am terminating the contract, I said what are his conditions if I am to terminate. He wouldn’t listen to anything I say, I told him he is being un-reasonable and he said I might as well call him a rascal and he wouldn’t care.

So, for a week there were loads of email and phone call exchange and we finally decide to meet in person, wherein he agreed that if I find him a replacement on the same price, he would be fine. Err… that’s what I have been trying to say for a week!

Anyways, What I’ve learned from this experience is:

  1. Singaporeans (or at-least my landlord) are paranoid where money is concerned. They react first and then listen. Trust me when I say this, as Indians are quite crazy about money but definitely not this crazy! Although, it could be that my landlord don’t trust us…Hmm…
  2. Government favours landlords or that’s what most lawyers, agents and sites says.
  3. Always add an Exit Clause in your agreement before you sign your contract, because if you don’t have this you are totally dependent on your landlord, who has the legal right to be an ass.
  4. Meet in person – My landlord was so nice in person that I was shocked! He was so nasty on the phone and on emails that I thought when we will meet he will just be annoying but he actually was very nice. I am still amazed!

I am still looking for a replacement and if you are living in Singapore and looking for a 2 bedroom apartment till August’ 2009, drop me a comment with contact details. The place is quite nice, fully furnished with all the amenities and 5 mins from MRT.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

