Lost in Thoughts…

March 4, 2008

“Have a nice Day”

Filed under: Job — Confused Desi @ 11:17 am
Tags:

There is a huge dis-advantage being a woman in professional world and no, I am not talking about the career ladder but even a bigger issue which might lead to you not being promoted: HANDBAGS!

Yes, it sounds absurd but I have a very valid reason and I have totally worked this out. Every time I come in late to office, everyone notices that I came in late (and I mean everyone, ppl who are not even in your team – who should just f*ck off) because I have a purse on me. When a guy walks in, there are lot of reasons why he might be coming in or going out: He went to the loo, went smoking downstairs, was in a meeting, went for a coffee break: because he is not carrying anything with him (almost all the times).

For a woman, majority of the time she carries her handbag when she is going out of the office. In my case, either when I come in or when I leave. Not even for lunch, as I just take my wallet there. When I go to the loo, I usually (99% of the time) don’t take my purse. So, even if I have the sternest of the face, with no expression of Joy for leaving for the day, its obvious that I am going home.

Why is it a problem? Well, you get noticed. Most bosses say that they care about the type of work you do, but many colleagues and some bosses also care what time you are coming in and going. Especially if you are the only one who comes in late!

I propose that all women in the professional world start taking their purses wherever they go, even if its to a meeting! We have to work together to overcome this issue! Soon, everyone will be confused when they see you with your purse. Is she going to the loo? Could it be the meeting? Ah, most probably she is coming back from the printer room. Yes, its achievable!

So the next time you go to the loo with a purse at 6:30 in the evening (coz that has your face wash and make-up), nobody will assume that you are going back home, nobody will dare say “Cya, have a nice day”; They will think that most probably you are going to the loo to wash your face, as you have a pimple the size of 1 carat diamond!

1 Comment »

  1. You have a pimple the size of 1 carat diamond? Nice! Should bring this up with the Women Alliance thingy huh?

    Comment by rayfd — March 7, 2008 @ 10:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

